Saying Good-bye to Lucy

Lucy joined our family in 2001. She was a stray, hanging around the shop where hub worked. But there was a big problem. The company was moving, and soon. A lot of the employees had been feeding her and no one wanted to abandon her. So she spent time with several different households, but for one reason or another she was denied a forever home.

When hub talked about a trial at our house, I insisted that she be given a fair chance. I found out that at all the other homes she had only had a night or two. I told hub that she got a month to prove to our resident dogs that she would fit. At the time, we had Scruffy and Jethro. Scruffy was a 10 pound wonder of mixed breed, who was about 13 years old. Jethro was a Rottweiler/ German Shepard mix at about 4 years old. He weighed about 90 pounds and Scruffy had raised him from a pup. They got along very well, and we weren’t sure how a middle sized adult dog would fit in. But we shouldn’t have worried. After a few days, it was hard to remember a time without Lucy.

Fast forward to 2010, and Lucy is the only dog in the house.  Scruffy had lived to be 18, and Jethro had made it to 13. When we got Lucy, the vet had estimated her age at 4 to 5 years old, so she was about 14 and showing it. She also seemed lonely without Jethro. So that summer we were going to get her a puppy. It had worked for Scruffy, after all. Plus I knew it would be easier on me if I already had a dog in the house when Lucy’s time came.  So entered Ike and Tina.

And Lucy helped teach them good puppy manners. Although she was getting slow and grumpy, she handled the pups very well.

She also started taking meds for her aches and pains and seemed to be doing fine.

But now the pain meds aren’t working, and Lucy is crying a lot. She wakes up yelping when she moves, and has a lot of trouble going outside. She’s not eating much, and just seems miserable. Hub insists that it is time. I guess I agree, because she doesn’t seem to have good days any more. We are down to good minutes. But it is hard to say good-bye…

 

16 Comments

October 25, 2011 · 11:41 am

16 responses to “Saying Good-bye to Lucy

  1. I am so, so sorry. Big hugs to you and your family. I will be facing this for the first time sooner than I want to realize, and it is inspiring to see you being brave and doing what’s best.

  2. I started bawling while I was reading your post. Huge applauds to you for giving her a forever home. *Bunny hugs* from my warren to your den. I am so sorry about the pain you are experiencing.

  3. I’m so sorry. Bless you and your family for giving her a forever home, where she knew she was loved.

  4. My heart breaks for you. I can barely see to write through the tears. It sounds like it is time. Just know, you gave Lucy a wonderful, loved life. She spent more of her life as a member of your family. She was loved. Cry for the next few days, but, talk about her and savor the memories. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  5. I’m so close to having a similar story. My heart breaks knowing how you feel. Big hugs. Rest assured you gave her a wonderful family and life that she would have never otherwise have had.

  6. I’m so sorry. I have tears in my eyes too. I am dreading getting to that stage with my cat. I hope you are doing ok.

  7. I kept denying that we were getting close to this point for a while. Now I just feel tired. And weepy, and tired. Thanks for your support.

  8. so sad jeannie. theres nothing i can say that will make it better. ive lost too many pets now to know theres nothing anyone can say, except that we understand the sadness. its so lovely to read about how much you loved her.

  9. You clearly made her life better than she could have ever hoped. She was so lucky to be a part of your family. My heart goes out to you.

  10. Margo

    So sorry for your loss. You made the right choice for her.

  11. I know we are at that point, but I am having so much trouble – I feel like I’m giving up on her. But I know that it is the right thing to do for her ;( Thanks for stopping by my blog, and thanks for the link – I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

