Birthdays

We all get older.  There is only one other option and I’m not ready for that.  This year we went for a quiet family dinner at a local seafood restaurant.  The food there is always so good that we seldom have room for dessert, so no cake this year.

The newest member of the family, Tesla, garnered most of the attention.  That is fine by me.  Her mother, who celebrates her birthday August 5th didn’t seem to mind, either.

My gifts included a new floor for my crafts room, which got installed this evening, and a large bookcase from Ikea that will house a lot of my yarn stash as well as knitting books.  That will arrive later this week.

The best gift of course was the company of my family.  We don’t see them as often as I would like.

I’ve been sorting through the things that will go back in my crafts room, trying to cut the volume by at least 1/3 to 1/2.  It is hard to part with the polyester scraps from the 1970’s (NOT!)  I am putting together some things to donate and some things just get tossed.

I am also knitting, of course.  Some things I can’t show youuntil they have been given to their new owners.  But I have some swatches for a test knit I am working on for a talented Northwest designer, KnitQuest.  I was going to use a different yarn, but I quite literally tripped over this in my stash.  It was almost like the yarn was yelling “pick ME, pick ME!”

The eggplant color seems softer in the photo.  It really POPS PURPLE in life.

The knit is really fun, and I’m in love with the yarn.  It is a cashmere/merino blend that I am using double to get gauge.  The jewel tone of the yarn and its softness make me wish I had more in other bright colors.  I think maybe a teal and a peacock…   I bought it a year ago at knit and crochet show.

The sample Samantha had was in a beautiful neutral and maybe I’ll go that way next time, but for now …

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Birthdays

  1. drk

    happy birthday jeannie! loooove the ikea book shelves, hope they make you very happy!

  2. sounds like you had a lovely day! I do love a seafood restaurant. And that purple!!

    I long for some ikea shelves. I think they’d be good for me.

Leave a Reply

