Supervision in knitting and life

We have a supervisor on site for most projects. Lucy makes sure no food gets left on the floor of the kitchen.  She makes sure all bones are thoroughly gummed (she has lost a lot of teeth) before they are disposed.  She inspects everyone who enters our domicile to be sure they are worthy.

Right now we are painting in my refurbished crafts/sewing room.  She made sure hub laid the floor correctly.  She knows he is using the right tools.

She made sure he masked properly and cut into the corners without making a mess.

She will surely be on hand this next week as the mountain is sorted and select things get returned to the room.

All in all, we couldn’t do it properly without her supervision.

Throughout life we are each usually our own supervisors.  We almost always know what needs to be done.  If we don’t know how to do it, we know where to find out how it should be done.  If we can’t for whatever reason do it ourselves, we know how to find someone who can and will.

The bigger problem I am finding is sorting what MUST be done from what I would LIKE to get done and what SHOULD NOT be done.  The criteria for making those decisions is usually very muddied, in my opinion.   Allowing someone else to do the sorting generally results in someone being very much less than happy.

Knitting can be the same way.  The designer/supervisor has a very definite idea of what the finished product should be when you do a test knit.  You are trying to help her relay her vision in the most clear, concise way to another crafter who may or may not have experience.  The best way to do this is to follow her pattern as exactly as possible to a point where either the instructions don’t make sense or a mathematical error has been made.  It is important to keep notes about what works verbally and what doesn’t.  It is also important for me as a pattern user that proper grammar is used as much as possible.  Spelling and punctuation are important to me as well.  While my usage might not always be correct, I find it most irritating to pay money for something that is not correct.  I feel that is part of the professional image a designer should be striving for.  I have been knitting a test for KnitQuest. I admire her design process.  When it comes time for an item to be test knitted, she enlists several people of differing backgrounds and really listens to their comments.  She handles it like a KAL where they are free to question each other and encourage each other.  I find her finished patterns strive for the best possible in all areas of publication.

There may be simple typographical errors that can be just as annoying.  I wish more publications used better proofreaders.  But, I also know the human eye sees what it expects to see, so some typos and errors are easy to miss.

Lucy is a good supervisor in some areas, not so much in others.  Right now her focus seems to be on her dinner bowl and whether anything new is in it.  I love her anyway.

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “Supervision in knitting and life

  1. So Lucy’s not a good knitting supervisor? Nevermind, she has plenty of other skills!

    It’s very exciting you’re getting a makeover in your craft space. It’s so refreshing. And test knitting -you sound like you are having a good experience with it! I’m not so sure I am.

    • I think you have to decide what your goal is with test knitting. Are you trying to get the finished object or are you trying to help a designer publish the best pattern she/he can. For me, the finished object is a pleasant byproduct.

  2. great to see your space getting a makeover! and cattle dogs are extremely good food supervisors i find. good at the front gate. most other things, not so much! im with you on the proofreading. a little bit of attention to detail goes a long way.

  3. Hi! It’s me, Ve, from YarnOnTheHouse. I believe you won my last giveaway for a free pattern from the Churchmouse Classics collection and I don’t think that you have sent me an email yet to claim your prize. Thanks, Ve

Leave a Reply

