Destashing and simplifying

It is happening. It is slow, but it is happening.  The room that got flooded is being rehabbed. The carpet was pulled. New vinyl has been laid. Paint has been applied.

Here we have some before shots.

The furniture was hard to use in the room.  The carpet smelled bad.

The contents of the room were piled all over and filled the carport.

But things are getting sorted.New furniture was acquired for free.  It is being assembled.  Things are progressing quickly.

I did have help. My MS gets in the way sometimes. I get tired so fast, especially in the heat.  I hired a young lady to help empty the room.  My husband helped with flooring and paint.  Then the young lady came back and helped carry stuff back into the room.  My husband helped with the furniture.

But now I get to sort.  What do I value and know I will use?  What will I give away?  What should just be thrown away?  I know it should have been sorted before it got near the room, but my helpers have no clue what I want.  I didn’t have the stamina to sort it before it came back in.  But I am doing it now.  I am enjoying deciding the best places to put things.

There will be more pictures as the room gets done.

It won’t get completed this week.  On Thursday I am setting out for my 40 year high school reunion.  I attended high school in the same small town as my parents and many of my aunts and uncles.  There were only about 165 kids in my graduating class.  My sons went to schools four times that size.

I’m a little nervous about what I might find, but I am also excited.  I’ll be back when it’s over.  And then I get to continue sorting!

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Destashing and simplifying

  1. my final year class was about that size too – small town life!

    It’s so good you could hire someone to come and help you move stuff in and out -what a great idea!

  2. so great to see your space coming together! have a terrific time at your reunion. remember, dont judge your insides by other peopels outsides!!

Leave a Reply

